top of page
  • Writer's picture14daysofsolitude

Poem by Killian Buckley

Updated: Mar 22, 2020

It may be a great coincidence that as the planet chugs and coughs from our progress we have been forced by a natural thing to stop and release our hand from its throat or it may not. Perhaps is is a conscience decision from a natural world which holds the true power in this world.


Either way, we need to be shaken to change and now our world is shaken, I hope we can listen and make that change.


From His prison cell, served a man of great freedom

His punishment laid down by the world

You forsaked me and raped me for years unashamedly

and pledged me to die by the sword


For freedom to you was the wild fracas of daft jazz men

To play out of tune, out of beat, to oppose.

The players who play along side you and gift you the melody

To harmonise, But you didn't listen at all.


You trumpeted carnage in the name of your freedom

You sold what you could of the woods for a song You collected the species that garded your beehive

Drank all of their honey and left them to die.


And now with swift justice, I have ordered your capture.

Arrested the thing you call progress and growth

Put you in a cell to ponder and digest

You will not be released without showing remorse.


See it is I, the great nature, that is judge in the high court

Who decided day by day who should live and should die

And I gifted my best child with the power to manage My estate, but in a rush to the head you put me to die.


Perhaps it was a coup for the power

Perhaps you believed you knew better than I

But never the less when you mistook my generosity

I had no choice but to cage you and lay sentence

The length of which anywhere from two months

To life.


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page